Как подписаться на "бумажную" версию газеты "Тиква - Ор Самеах"?
Звоните по тел. 358180 или 358179 (заявки на подписку принимаются с понедельника по четверг с 9.00 до 16.00).

Vandalism at Jewish cemetery

Participants of joint meeting of consultative council of religious-secular consent and of council of ethno-national societies under support of mayor of Odessa, condemned the facts of vandalism, which took place last week. The correspondent document regarding this question was signed. Participants of the meeting agreed that these acts became possible because of lack of educational work with youth. “We will clean out graves, but is it possible to clean out souls of people, who did it?” – said advisor of chief rabbi of Odessa and Odessa region, leader of Odessa Judaic religious community (“Tikva” – “Ohr Sameah”) Shlomo Yarmola.

Secretary of Odessa City Council Aleksander Prokopenko agreed that authorities of the city should pay more attention to educational work with youth. “Educational factor is to become the main one in our work”, - he said.

In his turn, head of society “Ukraine – Israel” Dmitriy Goutakhov appealed to authorities with the request to accelerate the issue of permissions for building of children international esthetic center at 52, Kanatnaya street.

According to the opinion of deputy chief of municipal directorate of internal affairs Ivan Yastremskoy, “somebody doesn’t like the fact that we have peaceful atmosphere in the city”. He informed, that he couldn’t disclose all details of investigation, but could say, that the investigative group had already “selected” more than 2 thousand people and found the place where the paint was bought. The criminal matter was initiated, according to the article, which provides the confinement for the term of 3 years (it depends on the part of the article).

I. Yastremsky appealed to municipal authorities, proposing to enforce the guard of cemeteries and informed that directorate of internal affairs would take under video-control the biggest ones. 12 squares of the city are already under the control of this kind.


On 11 March three persons under suspect in violation of graves at III Jewish cemetery were seized by Odessa militia.

As it was informed by deputy head of central directorate of ministry of internal affairs in Odessa region, Aleksey Khlevnoy, two persons under arrest were 25 y.o. and the third one aged 19. Young people confessed in executed deeds and showed the place where they threw away paint containers. Clothes and gloves with traces of paint were expropriated from them. They also showed the way they violated graves.

Vandals insist that they just wanted to see the reaction of society towards their crime. They were never members of extremist groupings, though the youngest was interested in fascist literature. One of arrested has higher education and worked as a secretary in the court for some time.

Accusation according to article 297 of Criminal Codex of Ukraine - violation of graves – was raised to suspected persons.


According to chief of regional directorate of Ministry of internal affairs, Gennadiy Podroiko, the violation of Jewish sites, which took place in February in Odessa, didn’t have the character of order.

According to militia data, the initiator and organizer is the student of maritime school (born in 1987), who “over-read national-socialist literature”. The literature of this kind was expropriated from him during house-check. According to information, he proposed to two acquaintances to conduct a “Nazi action”. III Jewish cemetery was chosen because “bigger number of Jews were buried there and the action could go unnoticed”.

Criminals bought 5 containers with red automobile nitro-paint, according to their explanation this color is well-seen both on black and white stones. As G. Podroiko said, one container is enough to make 10 sq.m of signatures.

At daytime on 10 February young men entered the cemetery through the fence from the side of Prokhorovskaya street, got sure that there were no guards in this place. 18 February about 10 p.m. young men found their way to the cemetery again, where they violated 302 burials by painting swastika on grave-stones.

The suspected men hitched to Srednefontanskaya street and then went to Prokhorovskiy park by feet, where they made offensive inscriptions at Alley of zaddikim. After that one of vandals proposed to leave signatures at the memorial plate “to a Jewish doer” at Risheliyevskaya street (at the house, where Leon Pinsker, doctor, publicist and public figure lived). From there the criminals hitched to Tolboukhin square, where they vandalized the memorial to victims of Nazi.

According to leader of directorate of Ministry of internal affairs, the initiator of action is not a member of any organization. But the suspected said that “there are a lot of us”.

The arrested were accused according to the article “violation of graves” that provides the confinement for the term of 3 years. But in the process of investigation the matter can be reconsidered. By opinion of G. Podroiko the accusation is to be made according to the article “hooliganism”, that provides more serious confinement. “This affair is not the problem of militia, but it’s the problem of the whole society”.


Odessa militia must conduct investigative experiment to prove, that the act of violation over Jewish monuments in February was done by only 3 people. That opinion was expressed by deputy of Odessa city council Vadim Morokhovsky. “Much more people participated in this planned action. Everything is not to be written off for only these three arrested men”, - he says.

The deputy insists that the criminals violated not 302, but more than 700 graves and it was already admitted by the procuracy of the city. By opinion of V. Morokhovsky to paint this number of gravestones three young people would need not less than 7 hours.


Monument to victims of holocaust near Tolboukhin square

Monument to victims of holocaust near Tolboukhin square

On 18 February unknown criminals violated the monument to victims of holocaust near Tolbukhin square in Odessa. On both sides of the monument swastikas were painted. As well as in the previous case of monuments violation in Prokhorovsky square, inscription was made with cliché.

Memorial plate dedicated to Leon Pinsker

Memorial plate dedicated to Leon Pinsker

Vandals draw swastika and words “Happy Holocaust!” on the memorial plate, that was established on building № 44/46, Risheliyevskaya street. This memorial sign is dedicated to Leon Pinsker, doctor, publicist and public figure.

These days 302 graves were violated at III Jewish cemetery (workers of the cemetery reject the fact that vandals broke several gravestones).

Chief rabbi of Odessa and Odessa region Shlomo Baksht: “I’m shocked. It’s a shock for all of us…”

Chief rabbi of Odessa and Odessa region Shlomo Baksht: “I’m shocked. It’s a shock for all of us…”

It’s hard to believe that violation of Jewish sites in Odessa is a spontaneous expression of emotions of a crazy person, it looks as a planned and organized action – this confidence was expressed by chief rabbi of Odessa and Odessa region, leader of Odessa religious Judaic community Shlomo Baksht. According to his words, this event shocked not only Jews, but also people of other nationalities. “Nobody would think that it could happen here in Odessa. Before these events I supposed, that there was no anti-Semitism in this city. Now I have doubts”, - says rabbi.

He added: “First of all I’m sorry for those who did it, because they descended to this level… We know, that organizations, which are to investigate this crime are already in the process of work. We were told at law-enforcement bodies, that it was a big shame for them and everything would be done to seize vandals”.

“I hope that these are single cases and that it would never repeat again and that it is not characteristic of Odessa”, - finalized Shlomo Baksht.

Ministry of internal affairs of Ukraine condemned acts of vandalism at III Jewish cemetery in Odessa. The declaration reads as this: those, who did these actions dishonor Ukraine as a hospitable home for representatives of all peoples and ethnic groups, where there’s no place for anti-Semitism and other forms of xenophobia”.

USA appealed to Ukraine to conduct intensive and quick investigation of acts of vandalism in regard to Jewish monuments in Odessa and to bring guilty persons to court. This was declared in the Embassy of USA in Ukraine.

The Embassy expresses anxiety with violation of 302 graves at III Jewish cemetery in Odessa, where thousands of Holocaust victims were buried, and at the memorial of victims of fascism. “These acts of vandalism, moved with hate, are disgusting and are not to have place in this tolerant society, as Ukrainian society is”, - it was said in the message of diplomatic mission.

At the same time the embassy approves activity of mayor of Odessa Eduard Gurvitz relatively reconstructive works at the cemetery and call on authorities of the city to take measures for non-admittance of such cases in future.

Council of Jewish communities of Odessa demands to reconsider the article of accusation in “matter about vandalism” as fomentation of interethnic discord”. The council made a correspondent appeal to head of security service of Ukraine in Odessa region, General Prosecutor of Ukraine and also to Speaker, President and Prime-minister. Regional council supported the appeal of Jewish communities of Odessa.

In his turn, mayor of Odessa, Eduard Gurvitz named violation of monument an indignant act, offense of all nationalities, representatives of which live in Odessa, and promised that vandalism will not remain unpunished.
Deputy chief of regional directorate of Ministry of internal affairs Dmitry Fouchedzhy declared that it’s the matter of honor for Odessa militia to detect these crimes. Procuracy of Odessa initiated the matter on the facts of vandalism relatively Jewish monuments at the end of the last and at the beginning of this week, said leader of the institution Nikolay Markin. According to his words the matter was transferred from Malinovsky district department of internal affairs to city directorate of internal affairs. Facts of vandalism held relatively Jewish monuments in Odessa are being investigated by the group of 5 specialists. The group of representatives of directorate against organized crimes, security service of Ukraine, district militia was headed by investigator of special affairs of directorate of ministry of internal affairs of Ukraine in Odessa, Nataliya Korolyova. Specialists had already conducted investigation of hand-writings and also had specified that the paint, used for the crime was not the automobile paint.

Students of Jewish University wash off gravestones

Students of Jewish University wash off gravestones

On Thursday, 22 February 15 students of Jewish University worked at III Jewish cemetery, they tried to wash off swastikas, painted at gravestones. According to words of young people, the work is complicated with cold and also the paint takes a lot of time to be eliminated. Young people used terebenthene, stripper, then you have to wash it with warm water with soap or powder. Cemetery workers consider that in case if the paint soaked up deeply, it would be necessary to use sandblasting device.

Tikva Children's Home

Как подписаться на "бумажную" версию газеты "Тиква - Ор Самеах"?
Звоните по тел. 358180 или 358179 (заявки на подписку принимаются с понедельника по четверг с 9.00 до 16.00).

Вандализм на еврейском кладбище

Участники совместного заседания консультативного совета религиозно-светского согласия и совета этнонациональных обществ при мэре Одессы осудили факты вандализма, произошедшие на минувшей неделе. По этому поводу был подписан соответствующий документ. При этом участники заседания сошлись во мнении, что эти акты стали возможны из-за того, что не поставлена на должный уровень воспитательная работа с молодежью. «Могилы мы очистить сможем, но как очистить души молодых людей, совершивших это?» – задал вопрос советник главного раввина Одессы и области, руководителя Одесской иудейской религиозной общины («Тиква»-«Ор Самеах») Шломо Ярмола.

Секретарь Одесского горсовета Александр Прокопенко согласился, что власти города должны больше внимания уделять воспитательной работе с молодежью. «Воспитательный фактор должен стать главным в нашей работе», - утверждает он.

В свою очередь, председатель общества «Украина - Израиль» Дмитрий Гутахов обратился к властям с просьбой ускорить выдачу разрешений на строительство детского межнационального эстетического центра на ул. Канатной, 52.

По мнению заместителя начальника городского управления внутренних дел Ивана Ястремского, «кому-то очень не нравится, что у нас в городе спокойная обстановка». Он заявил, что не может раскрыть все подробности следствия, но сообщил, что следственная группа уже «отработала» более 2 тыс. человек, установила, где могла быть куплена краска. Возбуждено уголовное дело по статье, предусматривающей лишение свободы на срок от 3 лет (в зависимости от того, по какой ее части будет предъявлено обвинение).

И. Ястремский призвал городские власти усилить охрану кладбищ и заявил, что УВД готово взять под видеонаблюдение крупнейшие из них. Под таким надзором уже находятся 12 площадей города.


11 марта сотрудники одесской милиции задержали троих подозреваемых в осквернении могил на III Еврейском кладбище.

Как сообщил первый замначальника Главного управления МВД в Одесской области Алексей Хлевной, двоим арестованным по 25 лет, третьему – 19. Молодые люди признались в совершенных действиях, показали, где выбросили баллончики из-под краски. У арестованных изъяты перчатки и одежда со следами краски. Они также показали, как оскверняли могилы.

Вандалы утверждают, что хотели лишь узнать реакцию общества на свое преступление. Ни в какой экстремистской группировке они не состоят, хотя младший интересовался фашистской литературой. Один из задержанных имеет высшее образование, одно время работал секретарем в суде.

Подозреваемым предъявлено обвинение по ст. 297 Уголовного кодекса Украины – надругательство над могилами.


Осквернение еврейских объектов, совершенное в феврале в Одессе, не носило заказной характер. Об этом заявил начальник областного управления Министерства внутренних дел (УМВД) Геннадий Подройко.

По данным милиции, инициатором и организатором стал учащийся (1987 года рождения) мореходного училища, «начитавшийся национал-социалистской литературы». Подобные издания были изъяты у юноши во время обыска. По словам главы УМВД, парень предложил 2 своим знакомым провести «нацистскую акцию». Ш Еврейское кладбище было выбрано, так как там «похоронено больше всего евреев и можно провести акцию незаметно».

Злоумышленники купили 5 баллончиков с красной автомобильной нитрокраской, поскольку этот цвет хорошо виден и на белом, и на черном камне. Как сказал Г. Подройко, такого баллона хватает, чтоб сделать 10 кв. м надписей.

Днем 10 февраля молодые люди проникли на кладбище через забор со стороны Прохоровской улицы и убедились, что в этом месте нет охраны. 18 февраля около 22 часов юноши снова пробрались на кладбище, где надругались над 302 захоронениями, намалевав свастики на надгробиях.

На попутной машине подозреваемые добрались до улицы Среднефонтанской, а затем пешком прошли к Прохоровскому скверу. Там они сделали оскорбительные надписи на Алее Праведников. После этого один из вандалов предложил разрисовать мемориальную доску «какому-то еврейскому деятелю» на Ришельевской (на доме, где жил врач, публицист и общественный деятель Леон Пинскер.). Оттуда снова на попутном автомобиле злоумышленники доехали до площади Толбухина. Там они изуродовали мемориал жертвам нацизма.

По утверждению руководителя УМВД, нет информации о том, что инициатор акции состоит в какой-либо организации. Но парень сказал, что «нас таких много».

Задержанным предъявлено обвинение по статье «осквернение могил», предусматривающее заключение на срок до 3 лет. Но в ходе следствия дело может быть переквалифицировано. По мнению Г. Подройко, обвинение должно быть предъявлено по статье «хулиганство», предусматривающей более серьезное наказание. «Это дело – проблема не милиции, это проблема всего общества», – добавил начальник ведомства.


Одесская милиция должна провести следственный эксперимент, чтобы доказать, что акт надругательства над еврейскими памятниками в феврале совершили только 3 человека. Такое мнение выразил депутат Одесского горсовета Вадим Мороховский. «В этой спланированной акции принимало участие намного больше людей. Списать все только на троих задержанных нельзя», – считает он.

Депутат утверждает, что преступники осквернили не 302, а более 700 могил, и это уже признала прокуратура города. По мнению В. Мороховского, чтобы ночью изрисовать такое количество надгробий, трем молодым людям было необходимо не менее 7 часов.


Памятник жертвам Холокоста в районе площади Толбухина

Памятник жертвам Холокоста в районе площади Толбухина

18 февраля неизвестные осквернили памятник жертвам Холокоста, находящийся в районе площади Толбухина в Одессе. С обеих сторон памятника нарисованы свастики. Как и в минувшем случае осквернения памятников - в Прохоровском сквере - надпись была сделана под трафарет.

Мемориальная доска Леону Пинскеру

Мемориальная доска Леону Пинскеру

Вандалы намалевали свастику и слова «С праздником Холокоста» на мемориальной доске, установленной на доме № 44/46 по улице Ришельевской. Памятный знак посвящен врачу, публицисту и общественному деятелю Леону Пинскеру.

В эти же дни осквернено 302 могилы на Третьем еврейском кладбище. (Сотрудники кладбища опровергают сообщения некоторых средств массовой информации о том, что вандалы разбили ряд надгробий.)

Главный раввин Одессы и Одесской области раввин Шломо Бакшт:

Главный раввин Одессы и Одесской области раввин Шломо Бакшт: "Я в шоке. Это шок для нас всех..."

Трудно поверить в то, что осквернение еврейских объектов в Одессе - спонтанное проявление эмоций какого-то сумасшедшего, наверняка кто-то это задумал и организовал. Такую уверенность выразил главный раввин Одессы и области, руководитель Одесской религиозной иудейской общины Шломо Бакшт.
По его словам, случившееся шокировало не только евреев, но и людей других национальностей. «Никто не думал, что такое могло произойти здесь, в Одессе. До последних событий я полагал, что в этом городе антисемитизма нет. Сейчас уже сомневаюсь», - говорит рав.

Он добавил: «Мне, прежде всего, жаль тех, кто это совершил. Они опустились на такой уровень... Мы знаем, что организации, которые должны расследовать преступление, уже работают. В правоохранительных органах нам сказали, что для них это большой позор, что будет сделано все для поимки вандалов».

«Надеюсь, что это все-таки единичные случаи, что такое не повторится никогда и что это не характеризует Одессу», - заключил Ш. Башкт.

Министерство иностранных дел Украины осудило акты вандализма на Третьем еврейском кладбище в Одессе. В заявлении сказано, что те, «кто осуществил такие действия, позорят Украину как гостеприимный дом для представителей всех народов и этнических групп, где нет места для антисемитизма и других форм ксенофобии».

Соединенные Штаты призывают Украину провести тщательное и быстрое расследование актов вандализма в отношении еврейских памятников в Одессе и привлечь виновных к суду. Об этом заявили в посольстве США в Украине.

Посольство выражает обеспокоенность осквернением 302 могил на III Еврейском кладбище в Одессе, где покоятся тысячи жертв Холокоста, а также мемориала жертвам фашизма. «Эти акты движимого ненавистью вандализма отвратительны и не должны иметь места в таком толерантном обществе, как украинское», – говорится в сообщении дипломатической миссии.

В то же время посольство одобряет действия мэра Одессы Эдуарда Гурвица в отношении восстановительных работ на кладбище и призывает власти города принять меры для недопущения подобных случаев в будущем.

Совет еврейских общин Одессы требует квалифицировать статью обвинения в «деле о вандализме» как «разжигание межнациональной розни». Совет принял соответствующее обращение к главе СБУ в Одесской области, генеральному прокурору Украины, а также к спикеру, Президенту и Премьер-министру. Областной совет поддержал обращение еврейских общин Одессы.

В свою очередь, мэр Одессы Эдуард Гурвиц назвал осквернение памятников возмутительным поступком, оскорблением всех национальностей, представители которых живут в Одессе, и пообещал, что вандализм не останется безнаказанным.

Заместитель начальника областного управления Министерства внутренних дел Дмитрий Фучеджи заявил, что раскрыть эти преступления - дело чести для одесской милиции. Прокуратура Одессы возбудила дело по фактам вандализма в отношении еврейских памятников в конце прошлой и начале нынешней недели. Об этом заявил руководитель ведомства Николай Маркин. По его словам, дело передано из Малиновского РОВД в городское управление внутренних дел. Факты вандализма, совершенные в отношении еврейских памятников в Одессе, расследует группа из 5 человек. Возглавила группу из представителей УБОПа, СБУ и райотделов милиции следователь по особо важным делам УМВД Украины в Одессе Наталья Королёва. Специалисты уже провели почерковедческую экспертизу, а также установили, что краска, которой были размалеваны памятники, не является автомобильной.

Студенты Еврейского университета отмывают надгробия

Студенты Еврейского университета отмывают надгробия

В четверг, 22 февраля, полтора десятка студентов Еврейского университета работали на 3-м Еврейском кладбище – они попытались отмыть свастики, намалеванные на надгробиях. По словам молодых людей, работа сильно осложнена холодом, к тому же краска смывается с большим трудом. Ребята применяли скипидар, растворитель, затем нужно мыть теплой водой с мылом или чистящим порошком. Как считают сотрудники кладбища, в случаях, когда надгробия сделаны из пористого камня, в который краска впиталась достаточно глубоко, придется использовать пескоструйный аппарат.

Tikva Children's Home